How to get a marriage license in Maui, Hawaii. Marriage licensing laws in Hawaii make it easy to get married on Maui. We will help you through this simple process to meet all the requirements.
Both the bride and groom go in person to a Maui County marriage license agent. This is a private citizen who is duly authorized by Maui County and the State of Hawaii to issue marriage licenses. An appointment is made with the marriage license agent for you to go to their place of business. There are marriage license agents all around Maui County. We will arrange an appointment for you with the agent that is in the most convenient location to you. The license is good through out the State of Hawaii.
The prospective bride and groom will complete an application to be presented to the marriage license agent. You can download a copy now directly from the State of Hawaii.
The Maui County marriage license agents usually conduct business during normal business hours Monday through Friday. They are closed on the weekends and holidays. Technically, you can receive your marriage license moments before saying I do, however it is recommended that you get your license shortly after arriving on Maui. The license is good for 30 days.
The cost is sixty-five US Dollars ($65.00), and is paid directly to the Maui County marriage license agent at the time of your appoint. It is $65 cash, no credit cards or debit cards, and most agents do not accept traveler’s checks or personal checks.
The legal age for marriage in Hawaii is 18 years of age for both the bride and the groom. If the bride and/or the groom is 16 or 17 years of age, consent of both parents, legal guardian, or the family court must be given in writing. See the State of Hawaii Web site for more information about under age marriages, including 15 year olds.
• Proof of age is required. A valid driver's license is adequate for anyone over 19 years of age.
• A certified copy of a birth certificate is required for those 19 years of age and younger.
• If a divorce has been granted to one of the parties to the marriage less than 60 days before applying for the marriage license, proof of the divorce must be presented.
There is no waiting period from the date of application.
No blood tests are required.
Witnesses are not required for Hawaii marriage ceremony.
Now, isn't that easy?
We will assist you in fulfilling your fantasy of a dreamy wedding in paradise. Whether it is a simple ceremony for two or a more elaborate event. We specialize in bringing your vision to reality, Muai style.